Car Accident and Car Wreck Information
Renewal procedures for older drivers in Texas, states that mail or electronic renewal is not available to people over 79 or over and if you are over the age of 85, you must renew your license every two years. If you have been injured in a car accident, contact the Dr Shezad Malik Law Firm in downtown Fort Worth, and Dallas Texas for a free consultation.
Katie’s Law, effective September 1, 2007, affects the issuance of a driver license (DL), or commercial driver license (CDL), to applicants 85 years of age and older. In addition, this law eliminates the opportunity for renewal by mail, internet or telephone to applicants who are 79 years of age or older.
Katie’s Law does not require applicants 85 years of age or older to automatically take a driving test upon renewal. However, if there is concern regarding the applicant’s ability to safely operate a motor vehicle as determined through the observation and/or interview by a Driver License employee, the applicant may be reexamined.
This law changes only the renewal date for persons 79 years of age or older.
If you have additional questions or concerns regarding Texas laws on older drivers, contact Dr Shezad Malik Law Firm in Fort Worth at 817-717-1772 or in Dallas toll free 888-210-9693 or click here and fill out our contact form for a free consultation.Photographs are Essential for Your Car Accident Claim in Dallas, Fort Worth, Texas
If you have been involved in a car wreck or car accident in Dallas, Tarrant, Denton or Collin Counties/the Dallas Fort Worth Metroplex, Texas, it is essential that you take photographs of both the property damage to your car as well as your personal injuries.
When your car is wrecked in an accident, hopefully it will get fixed by the car repair centers. Therefore, it is essential to take as many photographs as possible of your car damage as soon as possible after the accident. Use a good quality digital camera and preserve the images securely. You may need flash photography. Also take photographs of the other vehicle if you can, skid marks and the road conditions. Make sure you place a digital time and place stamp on the photos.
These photographs are essential to preserve the evidence and to add weight to your testimony. Remember the insurance company is not your friend and they will do everything possible to reduce the value of your claim.
To document your injuries after the car accident, it is important to take photographs as soon as possible after the accident and repeatedly. Many injuries are easy to evaluate in the beginning such as cuts, bruises, surgical scars and plaster casts. But later, these injuries will heal and look better. It is important that you take photographs of these injuries soon after the accident as well as take photographs as you are healing.
Also if you can take video of the accident scene, of your injuries and the damage to your vehicle, that would be extremely important to document the car crash. Again time and date stamp the videos.Drunk Driving in Texas Information From Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)
We like to drink alcohol here in our great state of Texas. Nothing wrong in that, as long as you do not get behind the wheel. It is against the law in Texas and every other state to drive a vehicle if you are impaired by alcohol. The DWI/DUI legal limit is .08 BAC (blood alcohol concentration), which means the normal adult is legally intoxicated after just a few beers or other alcoholic drinks.
Committing a DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) or DUI (Driving Under the Influence) crime is a very serious offense. Alcohol impairs the driver's judgment and usually leads the driver to drive at excessive speed for the road conditions. This reckless behavior is a direct result of alcohol.Texas Drunk Driving Statistics
45th nationwide 3 time offenders: 124,662 5 time offenders: 18,271 DUI Fatalities: 1,235 % of total traffic deaths DUI related 40% % of change in DUI fatalities from previous to current year: -6 State subsidy of drunk driving fatalities: $5.8 Billion
Summary: The Legislature rejected lifesaving interlock legislation and sobriety checkpoint legislation in 2009; MADD is working toward the 2011 session.
If you have additional questions or concerns regarding Texas laws on drunk drivers, contact Dr Shezad Malik Law Firm in Fort Worth at 817-717-1772 or in Dallas toll free 888-210-9693 or click here and fill out our contact form for a free consultation.
AREAS OF PRACTICE:Our Dallas Fort Worth Personal Injury and Wrongful Death Attorneys and Lawyers have extensive experience in the areas of: car and truck accident, sexual abuse, tractor trailer and commercial vehicle litigation, wrongful death, serious auto accidents and car wrecks, bus accidents, dog bites, product liability, brain/head injuries, burn and electrical injuries, spinal cord injuries, premises liability/slip and falls, negligent security, and many other types of personal injury cases.
Call us at 817-717-1772 in Fort Worth or in Dallas toll free at 888-210-9693 or send us an e-mail to schedule a free initial consultation about a car accident, slip and fall premises liability claim or any other personal injury or wrongful death case. We handle all cases on a contingency basis, which means you pay nothing unless we accomplish our mission of getting justice for you.